2010 History Center
The Harrisburg 2010 History Center is a temporary local museum with four exhibits designed to educate the public on the history of Dauphin County and Harrisburg, to showcase Harrisburg’s upcoming SusqueCentennial, and to kick off local activities in celebration of Civil War 150. The History Center will be open from April through December of 2010 and is located in the grand interior of the original and former Dauphin Deposit Bank Building at 213 Market Street. Built in the Greek Revival “Temple” style in 1839, the building was in existence in 1860, the SusqueCentennial anniversary year and saw continuous commercial use until it was closed to the public over twenty years ago.
A “permanent” exhibit covering the history of Harrisburg and the surrounding area, from Native American occupation through the present time will be in place on the perimeter of the gallery throughout the period the museum is open. Four rotating exhibits of varying duration will be located in the central area of the gallery.
June 19th, an exhibit featuring the stories and artifact collections from many of the Harrisburg150 Living Legacy Project participants will debut. The Living Legacy Project is the cornerstone of the SusqueCentennial celebration and the exhibit opens in conjunction with Harrisburg 150 Founder’s Day. The Living Legacy exhibit will be in place from June 19th through July 17th.
The next rotating exhibit Buy Levitra will be a point-in-time view of Harrisburg in 1860, and the years immediately following. This exhibit will be an expansion of a presentation given at the Harris-Cameron Mansion in January 2010, by Dr. Michael Barton, of the Penn State Harrisburg American Studies Program, and will be open from July 31st through October 2nd.
The final exhibit will be in place from October 16h through December 11th. It will feature the Civil War muster rolls of the United States Colored Troops (USCT) from Pennsylvania and related items. This exhibit will coincide with a series of events that will celebrate and build on the historic and unique USCT Grand Review, held in Harrisburg in November 1865.
The 2010 Center will be open from 11:00 Am to 4:00pm, Tuesday through Saturday. School and youth groups will have additional opportunity to schedule a visit in the mornings or on Mondays. Admission to the Center will be free of charge. However, donations will be accepted.